Regeländerung zu "environmental damage"

Ihr habt Fragen zu Regeln oder Karten. Hier ist der richtige Platz um sie zu stellen
Post Reply
User avatar
hardyrange
Vorsintflutlicher
Vorsintflutlicher
Posts: 3473
Joined: 21 Jan 2003, 08:39
Location: Essen
VEKN Nr.: 3820003
Contact:

Regeländerung zu "environmental damage"

Post by hardyrange » 04 Jun 2018, 08:48

http://www.vekn.net/general-rulings
Damage (Combat):

Damage is only considered to have come from a minion if the damage is from a strike or if an effect specifically states that the damage is dealt by the minion. Damage inflicted by damage-dealing retainers is considered to come from that retainer. Damage from other effects is considered "environmental," and has no particular source. [RTR 19970630][VR 20180603]


Was ist passiert? Das hier:

http://www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questio ... ironmental
Kraus wrote:The Lost kindred cards introduced Environmental damage, but Vengeful Spirit "inflicts" damage as a retainer, not Environmental.
Name: Vengeful Spirit
Cardtype: Retainer
Clan: Harbinger of Skulls
Cost: 1 blood
Wraith with 2 life.
The employer gets +1 bleed. Vengeful Spirit inflicts 1 damage on the opposing minion each round of combat during normal strike resolution at close range.
Artist: Ginés Quiñonero
Wolf Companion has the following text:
Name: Wolf Companion
[Jyhad:U2, VTES:U, Sabbat:U, SW:PT, KMW:PG, Third:PTz2]
Cardtype: Retainer
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Animalism
Animal with 2 life.
[ani] When the minion with this retainer is in combat, the opposing minion takes 1 damage during strike resolution (if the range is close).
[ANI] As above, but Wolf Companion has 3 life.
Artist: Zina Saunders; Melissa Benson
Emphasis mine.

What is the source of damage on Wolf Companion? Is it Wolf Companion (inflicts) or Environmental?

I'm trying to figure out what are the niche scenarios where Environmental and retainer damage have different interactions. Neither are inflicted by the opposing minion (Disarm, Pulled Fangs), and there are as of yet no cards that would, for example, prevent damage from Environmental only.

Where does the wording matter, and why isn't Vengeful Spirit Environmental damage?
Ankha wrote:
jamesatzephyr wrote:
Kraus wrote:What is the source of damage on Wolf Companion? Is it Wolf Companion (inflicts) or Environmental?
Anything not from a minion is environmental.

http://www.vekn.net/general-rulings [indent]Damage is only considered to have come from a minion if the damage is from a strike or if an effect specifically states that the damage is dealt by the minion. Damage from other effects is considered "environmental," and has no particular source. [RTR 19970630][/indent]
This has changed (implicitely through card text). The damage inflicted by Vengeful Spirit is inflicted by the retainer: this means that a vampire who is immune to damage dealt by wraiths, or retainers, would take no damage from the Vengeful Spirit. (Wolf Companion will be changed accordingly).
Damage from minions hasn't changed.
Environmental damage is now reserved to effects that have no specific source (Carrion Crows).

I've edited the General Ruling section.


"It was a perfect plan - until it had contact with reality"
---
Hardy Range
Playgroup Council Chairman Bochum

Post Reply